Peterborough Beer Festival 2011

34th Peterborough Beer Festival

This was my first visit to the Peterborough Beer Fest and it was prompted by seeing the beer list beforehand. There are ‘over 350’ real ales available, but one in particular stood out for me – Tintagel Brewery Harbour Special. I first tried this in the King Arthur’s Arms in Tintagel earlier this year and was bowled over by it. So much, that even though I’ve saved a bottle of it, I was willing to do a near 4 hour round trip on Wednesday evening to try it again on draught! It didn’t disappoint, one of the finest strong bitters I’ve had the pleasure of trying. The Castle Gold was in lovely condition too, so the evening got off to a great start…

Tintagel Harbour SpecialTintagel Harbour Special

I really enjoyed the festival, a great atmosphere and friendly volunteer bar staff, even the weather was fine. The beer was superb, probably the best selection I’ve ever seen. I thought the Digfield Ales Mad Monk and Fools Knook, and the Hopshackle Texas IPA were also excellent beers. Of course, I had to go back for more Tintagel before I left though.

Peterborough Beer Festival 2011

I don’t know if the site could be better arranged to make the outdoor seating all in one large space, rather than spread out around the sides, but I think they did well to keep the music and funfair out of the way at the back. All in all a great way to spend an evening casting long, late summer shadows.

Peterborough Beer Festival 2011

The train home should have been simple enough. Except I slept until the train pulled away from my stop and I found myself on the quiet station of Audley End at night waiting for a train back. Then I lost my ticket. I suspect the beers may have had some part to play in these events.

Leave a comment