Maine Beer Company – Peeper Ale

Some beers delight. From the top of the bottle…

Maine Beer Company Peeper Ale

… to the bottom, I got the feeling that making this beer was probably as pleasurable for Maine Beer Co as drinking it was for me. Which would make this one hell of a fun beer to brew.

I poured it with the same care I imagine went into crafting it, and then I just looked at it – this is one good looking beer, somehow both cloudy and bright. Class in a glass.

Maine Beer Company Peeper Ale

The aroma was as fresh and enticing as slicing open a grapefruit – not the in-yer-face pungency of a hop monster, but a refined, gentle waft of citrus to the nose. This carried through to the taste, delicate citrus and straw with a zingy dry bitterness on the tongue, the flavours getting sweeter as the beer warmed. Each time I raised the glass to my lips, I found myself smiling, charmed. Really! It was that kind of beer.

Maine Beer Company Peeper Ale

The trouble with having just a single bottle is that it’s such a fleeting pleasure. A friend only had space in their luggage to bring this one bottle back from Boston. Would it be ungrateful to suggest they might have taken a bigger suitcase?

3 responses to “Maine Beer Company – Peeper Ale

  1. Nice. It’s great when the brewer and drinker can enjoy the beer equally

  2. I’ve been working with a client who produces wines and traditional juices locally, I think there’s a bigger market for independant producers, its just the economy and funding makes it difficult for them to break the market

  3. Pingback: The Session #82: Beery Yarns | Pints and Pubs

Leave a Reply

